PDA

View Full Version : Halal & Haram Food-Be CareFul..Read Plz



expert
08-17-2010, 08:21 PM
Halal & Haram Food Guide


"Halal Food" means food or product that contains NO pork, lard, bacon, ham, alcohol or any of their byproducts.

"Haram Food" is not Permissible for Islamic consumption. Muslims must seek "Halal" and and avoid "Haram".
There is a fact about food ingredients that all muslims must know. As we may know that the prepared, canned, and frozen food have some addictives, enzymes, emulsifiers and some other chemical materials. These materials are either prepared or derived from plants or animals and some are synthetical. Hence, one has to find out what type of animal has been used for the preparation of these materials. If the source is pork, then definitely, it becomes haram (unlawful) for muslims to use or eat that kind of food.
The following list of Classified Ingredients are widely used in the Food Industries. Some of these ingredients are Halal (lawful), some are Mash-Booh (suspected), and some are Haram (unlawful). Please note that this is a partial list.
We have done our best to insure that the information we preset here is accurate and lawful to the islamic prospective, but if you find otherwise please let us know.

Partial List of Halal (Lawful) Ingredients
Nartural - Additives
Citric Acid
Honey
Mustard
Pepper
Salt
Sugar
Vinegar
Synthetic - Additives
Sodium Bicarbonate
Sodium Citrate
More Halal ingredients
Acetic Acid
Adipic Acid
Agar
Amylase
Amylose
Antioxidantants (BHA & BHT)
Arachidonic Acids (Fish)
Ascorbic Acid (Vit. C)
Avidin
Baking Powder
Baking Soda
Benzoate (Benzoic Acid)
Bran
Butyric Acid
Calciferol (Vit. D3)
Calcium Acid Phosphate
Carbohydrates (Natural)
Carotene
Carotenoid
Carrageenin
Casein
Cellulose
Chocolate Liquor
Cholecalciferol
Choline
Citric Acid
Cocoa Butter
Corn Syrup Solids
Cream of tartar
Cultures (Microbes)
Cystein
Dextrose
Disaccherids
Ergosterol
Farina
Fiber
Ficin
Firming Agents
Fructose
Galactose
Gallic Acid
Gliadin (Gluten)
Glucose
Gums
Hemicellulose
Hydrogenated Oils
Inulin
Iodine
Lactic Acid
Lactose
Lysin
Malic Acid
Malt
Maltose
Mannitol
Mannosan
Methionine
Molases
Monosaccherides
Oxalic Acid
Papain
Pectin
Phytic Acid
Polysacceride
Propionic Acid
Propyl gallate
Roughage
Smoke Flavorings
Sodium Aluminum Sulphate
Sorbic Acid
Sorbitol
Starch
Sucrose
Suet
Sweeteners (Natural)
Tannic Acid
Tapioca
Tryptophan
Vanilla
Vanilla Acid
Vanillin
Vitamin Tablets: (A, D, E, C)
Zinc

Partial List of Haram (Unlawful) Ingredients
Alcohol
Alcoholic Beverages
Bacon
Cider (Hard) (Alcohol)
Cocaine
Codeine
Collagen
D.E.S (sex Hormones)
Ethylene Oxide
Fermented Malt
Ham (Hog)
Insulin (Porcine)
Insulin
Lard (Hog)
Pepsin (Hog)
Pork
Vanilla Extract (Alcohol)
Wine (Alcohol)

Partial List of Mash-Booh (Suspected) Ingredients
Mash-Booh Product
Sources
Alanine
Animal/Plants
Bile Salts
Animal
Biotin
Animal
Chelate
Animal
Cholesterol
Animal
Chymotrypsin
Animal
Cobalamine
Animal
Coloring Extract
Health Reasons
Cures
.
Cystein
Animal
Cystine
Animal
Diglycerides
Animal/Plants
Disodium Inosinate
Animal
Disodium Guanilate
Animal
Diuretic
Health Reasons
EDTA
Health Reasons
Enrichement
Animal/Plants (Mainly Plants)
Fatty Acids
Animal/Plants
Folic Acid
Animal/Plants
Gelatin
Animal/Seaweeds
Glycerides
Animal/Plants
Glycerol
Animal
Hismatine
Animal/Plants
Hormones
Animal
Inositol
Animal/Plants
Insulin
Animal
Keratin
Animal
Limit Dextrin
Animal
Lipids
Animal/Plants
Monoglycerides
Animal/Plants
Niacin
Animal/Plants
Nitrate
Health reasons
Nitrite
Health Reasons
Oleic Acid
Animal/Plants
Para Amino Benzoic Acid
Animal/Plants
Pepsin
Animal
Phenyl Alanine
Animal/Plants
Phospholipids
Animal
Phosphoric Acid
Health Reasons
Polysaccherides - Amylopectin
Animal
Polysaccherides - Glycogen
Animal
Polyunsaturated
Animal/Plants
Rennet
Animal/Plants
Rennin
Animal/Plants
Riboflavin
Animal/Plants (Mainly Plants)
Shortenings
Animal/Plants
Sweeteners - Aspartame
Health reasons
Sweeteners - Cyclamate
Health Reasons
Sweeteners - Saccharine
Health Reasons
Tartaric Acid
Alcohol
Thiamin
Animal/Plants
Tonic
Alcohol/No-Alcohol
Trypsin
Animal
Uric Acid
Animal
Vinegar
Alcohol/No-Alcohol
Vitamin: Capsules (A,E,K)
Animal
Whey
May contain Rennin or Rennet
Yeast (Brewer's Beer)
Alcohol

expert
08-17-2010, 08:26 PM
Here are the results of consultations done with various food companies. No particular questions were asked about products that may contain alcohol.
L.D. Schrieber Cheese Company:

No shortening, lard, gelatin or lecithin used. Cow products are used HALAL

The lists below have been taken with permission from the book 'Islamic Dietary Laws and Practices by Mohammad Mazhar Hussaini and M S Ahmad Hussein Sakr, Ph.D .
It should be noted that a product being imported from a Muslim country is not necessarily a guarantee that it is completely Halal. In fact, food is often imported from abroad into Muslim countries without proper checking of ingredients.

1. AN ALPHABETICAL DEFINITION GUIDE


An alphabetical list of Halal and Haram ingredients to look out for:


Bacon: A side of pig meat (pork).


Choletsorol: type of fat always of animal origin. If extracted from Zabiha animal, it is Halal.


Diglyceride: Emulsifier. If of animal origin it should be suspected till the source is known.


Gelatin (Jello Gelatin): Usually of animal origin, mostly from pig. If extracted from a dhabiha animal, then it is halal/


Glycerol (Glycerine): It could be of animal, plant or Glyceryl-Stearate synthetic origin. If animal source is used, it is suspected.


Hormones: Usually animal hormones are used for human consumption. One has to find out the source before passing a judgement.


Lard: Fat from swine particulaly found in the abdominal cavity. Totally Haram for us.


Magnesium Stearate (stearic acid): Used as an active ingredient in medicine tablets. Haram when derived from animal source.


Mono Glycerides: When derived from animal source. (Halal when the source is plant).


Pepsin: A digestive enzyme mostly from pig stomach.


Rennin (Rennet): A protein Enzyme. Usually not labeled. (In most cheeses).


Shortening: Fats and oils of animal origin. Animal/Lard


Vanilla: Extracted using alcohol.


Vitamins: Haram when from animal source. Mostly the source is synthetic or plant and are Halal.


Whey: Used in ice creams and yogurt. Haram when from animal source.


2. A PARTIAL LIST OF HALAL INGREDIENTS
S/N Name of Ingredients Code No Brief Description


Antioxidants: Chemical compounds used to protect certain food components from being destroyed or lost through oxidation.


Ascorbic acid: Vitamin C.


Benzoate (Benzoic acid): Benzoic acid and sodium benzoate are used for food preservation.


Biotin: A member of the B complex vitamins.


BHA: An antioxidant, preservative.


BHT: An antioxidant, preservative.


Citric acid: Sources are plant, usually of the citrus family. (e.g. orange, lime, lemon).


Cobalamine: Synthetically prepared Vitamin B12.


Dextrin: An emulsifying, sizing, and thickening agent.


Fiber: Sources are plant. Provide roughage to diet.


Fructose: Fruit sugar.


Gliadin (Gluten): Ptotein found in wheat and rye.


Hydrogenated oil: Vegetable oil being hydrogenated making it solid at room temperature.


Iodine: A nutrient for thyroid gland.


Lecithin: Emulsifier of fat. In the USA, sources are mainly soyabean and egg yolk.


Lipids : Essential fatty acids found in fish, plant and animals. If source is animal; it is suspected.


Malt: A kind of fermented grain.


Molasses: Syrup liquid obtained in refining sugar.


MSG: Flavoring. Imparts meat flavor to foods.


Niacin: One of the B complex vitamins.


PABA: A food supplement.


Pectin: A gelatinous substance extracted from fruits.


Propionic acid: A preservative.


Riboflavin: One of the B complex vitamins. Usually the source is synthetic.


Pure vegetable shortening: Source of this kind of shortening is plant.


100% vegetable shortening: Source of this kind of shortening is plant.


Sweetener: Substance that gives a sweet taste.


Thiamin: One of the B complex vitamins.


Vanillin: Flavoring agent, extracted from vanilla.


Vitamin A: If source are plant and synthetic, it is halal.


Vitamin C: Natural sources are from plant. (e.g. citrus fruit, tomatoes, etc).


Vitamin D: Natural sources are yeast and fish liver oil. Also synthetically produced.


Vitamin E: Rich sources of Vitamin E are vegetable oils. When source is synthetic, it is halal. If source is animal, it is suspected.


Water: The nutrient most vital to man's existence.


Food yeast: Microscopic, unicellular, fungal plant used for fermentation process and in baking bread.

2>Burger King Corporation:


Shortening used in from swine = HARAM
Lard is used in buns and apple pie = HARAM
Lecithin is used in buns =HARAM
Because you are not sure.
Shakes = HALAL

3>General Goods:




Lard is used on Swan Down Cake mixes. Gelatin (from collagen-bearing tissues of any animal) is used in many products including Jell-O Brad Gelatin Desert = HARAM

4>Knox Gelatin Inc.:

Knox Gelatin is prepared from the protein collagen, which is extracted from either beef (bones and skin) or PORK (SKINS) =HARAM

5>American Lecithin Company:

Our lecithin is derived from soybeans and is sold under the trade name Alcoles = HALAL

6>Nestle:

A list was sent to MSA confirming that their products do not contain any animal by-product. Lecithin used in their products is derived from Soybeans = HALAL

7>General Mills Inc.:

Shortening similar to lard is used, also Soya lecithin is used =HARAM

(Because it does not say Soya or lard and you don't know so it is better to avoid)
8>Quaker Oats:

Soybean lecithin is used. Shortening used is from swine. Some of the products are MASA Trigo, Flako pie crust and cup cake mix.

_knownothing_
09-05-2010, 07:30 PM
jazakAllah sis

rabz
10-31-2010, 12:03 AM
jazakallah

afzaluddin
04-28-2011, 04:21 AM
jazakAllah