Must Install - Surah Yaseen Android App
Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: Halal & Haram Food-Be CareFul..Read Plz

  1. #1
    Regular Members expert's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    471

    Default Halal & Haram Food-Be CareFul..Read Plz

    Halal & Haram Food Guide

    "Halal Food" means food or product that contains NO pork, lard, bacon, ham, alcohol or any of their byproducts.

    "Haram Food" is not Permissible for Islamic consumption. Muslims must seek "Halal" and and avoid "Haram".
    There is a fact about food ingredients that all muslims must know. As we may know that the prepared, canned, and frozen food have some addictives, enzymes, emulsifiers and some other chemical materials. These materials are either prepared or derived from plants or animals and some are synthetical. Hence, one has to find out what type of animal has been used for the preparation of these materials. If the source is pork, then definitely, it becomes haram (unlawful) for muslims to use or eat that kind of food.
    The following list of Classified Ingredients are widely used in the Food Industries. Some of these ingredients are Halal (lawful), some are Mash-Booh (suspected), and some are Haram (unlawful). Please note that this is a partial list.
    We have done our best to insure that the information we preset here is accurate and lawful to the islamic prospective, but if you find otherwise please let us know.

    Partial List of Halal (Lawful) Ingredients
    Nartural - Additives
    Citric Acid
    Honey
    Mustard
    Pepper
    Salt
    Sugar
    Vinegar
    Synthetic - Additives
    Sodium Bicarbonate
    Sodium Citrate
    More Halal ingredients
    Acetic Acid
    Adipic Acid
    Agar
    Amylase
    Amylose
    Antioxidantants (BHA & BHT)
    Arachidonic Acids (Fish)
    Ascorbic Acid (Vit. C)
    Avidin
    Baking Powder
    Baking Soda
    Benzoate (Benzoic Acid)
    Bran
    Butyric Acid
    Calciferol (Vit. D3)
    Calcium Acid Phosphate
    Carbohydrates (Natural)
    Carotene
    Carotenoid
    Carrageenin
    Casein
    Cellulose
    Chocolate Liquor
    Cholecalciferol
    Choline
    Citric Acid
    Cocoa Butter
    Corn Syrup Solids
    Cream of tartar
    Cultures (Microbes)
    Cystein
    Dextrose
    Disaccherids
    Ergosterol
    Farina
    Fiber
    Ficin
    Firming Agents
    Fructose
    Galactose
    Gallic Acid
    Gliadin (Gluten)
    Glucose
    Gums
    Hemicellulose
    Hydrogenated Oils
    Inulin
    Iodine
    Lactic Acid
    Lactose
    Lysin
    Malic Acid
    Malt
    Maltose
    Mannitol
    Mannosan
    Methionine
    Molases
    Monosaccherides
    Oxalic Acid
    Papain
    Pectin
    Phytic Acid
    Polysacceride
    Propionic Acid
    Propyl gallate
    Roughage
    Smoke Flavorings
    Sodium Aluminum Sulphate
    Sorbic Acid
    Sorbitol
    Starch
    Sucrose
    Suet
    Sweeteners (Natural)
    Tannic Acid
    Tapioca
    Tryptophan
    Vanilla
    Vanilla Acid
    Vanillin
    Vitamin Tablets: (A, D, E, C)
    Zinc

    Partial List of Haram (Unlawful) Ingredients
    Alcohol
    Alcoholic Beverages
    Bacon
    Cider (Hard) (Alcohol)
    Cocaine
    Codeine
    Collagen
    D.E.S (sex Hormones)
    Ethylene Oxide
    Fermented Malt
    Ham (Hog)
    Insulin (Porcine)
    Insulin
    Lard (Hog)
    Pepsin (Hog)
    Pork
    Vanilla Extract (Alcohol)
    Wine (Alcohol)

    Partial List of Mash-Booh (Suspected) Ingredients
    Mash-Booh Product
    Sources
    Alanine
    Animal/Plants
    Bile Salts
    Animal
    Biotin
    Animal
    Chelate
    Animal
    Cholesterol
    Animal
    Chymotrypsin
    Animal
    Cobalamine
    Animal
    Coloring Extract
    Health Reasons
    Cures
    .
    Cystein
    Animal
    Cystine
    Animal
    Diglycerides
    Animal/Plants
    Disodium Inosinate
    Animal
    Disodium Guanilate
    Animal
    Diuretic
    Health Reasons
    EDTA
    Health Reasons
    Enrichement
    Animal/Plants (Mainly Plants)
    Fatty Acids
    Animal/Plants
    Folic Acid
    Animal/Plants
    Gelatin
    Animal/Seaweeds
    Glycerides
    Animal/Plants
    Glycerol
    Animal
    Hismatine
    Animal/Plants
    Hormones
    Animal
    Inositol
    Animal/Plants
    Insulin
    Animal
    Keratin
    Animal
    Limit Dextrin
    Animal
    Lipids
    Animal/Plants
    Monoglycerides
    Animal/Plants
    Niacin
    Animal/Plants
    Nitrate
    Health reasons
    Nitrite
    Health Reasons
    Oleic Acid
    Animal/Plants
    Para Amino Benzoic Acid
    Animal/Plants
    Pepsin
    Animal
    Phenyl Alanine
    Animal/Plants
    Phospholipids
    Animal
    Phosphoric Acid
    Health Reasons
    Polysaccherides - Amylopectin
    Animal
    Polysaccherides - Glycogen
    Animal
    Polyunsaturated
    Animal/Plants
    Rennet
    Animal/Plants
    Rennin
    Animal/Plants
    Riboflavin
    Animal/Plants (Mainly Plants)
    Shortenings
    Animal/Plants
    Sweeteners - Aspartame
    Health reasons
    Sweeteners - Cyclamate
    Health Reasons
    Sweeteners - Saccharine
    Health Reasons
    Tartaric Acid
    Alcohol
    Thiamin
    Animal/Plants
    Tonic
    Alcohol/No-Alcohol
    Trypsin
    Animal
    Uric Acid
    Animal
    Vinegar
    Alcohol/No-Alcohol
    Vitamin: Capsules (A,E,K)
    Animal
    Whey
    May contain Rennin or Rennet
    Yeast (Brewer's Beer)
    Alcohol


    My dear ALLAH when I loose hope, Help me to remember that, your love is greater than my disappointments & your plans For my life are better than my dreams..








  2. #2
    Regular Members expert's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    471

    Default

    Here are the results of consultations done with various food companies. No particular questions were asked about products that may contain alcohol.
    L.D. Schrieber Cheese Company:

    No shortening, lard, gelatin or lecithin used. Cow products are used HALAL

    The lists below have been taken with permission from the book 'Islamic Dietary Laws and Practices by Mohammad Mazhar Hussaini and M S Ahmad Hussein Sakr, Ph.D .
    It should be noted that a product being imported from a Muslim country is not necessarily a guarantee that it is completely Halal. In fact, food is often imported from abroad into Muslim countries without proper checking of ingredients.

    1. AN ALPHABETICAL DEFINITION GUIDE


    An alphabetical list of Halal and Haram ingredients to look out for:


    Bacon: A side of pig meat (pork).


    Choletsorol: type of fat always of animal origin. If extracted from Zabiha animal, it is Halal.


    Diglyceride: Emulsifier. If of animal origin it should be suspected till the source is known.


    Gelatin (Jello Gelatin): Usually of animal origin, mostly from pig. If extracted from a dhabiha animal, then it is halal/


    Glycerol (Glycerine): It could be of animal, plant or Glyceryl-Stearate synthetic origin. If animal source is used, it is suspected.


    Hormones: Usually animal hormones are used for human consumption. One has to find out the source before passing a judgement.


    Lard: Fat from swine particulaly found in the abdominal cavity. Totally Haram for us.


    Magnesium Stearate (stearic acid): Used as an active ingredient in medicine tablets. Haram when derived from animal source.


    Mono Glycerides: When derived from animal source. (Halal when the source is plant).


    Pepsin: A digestive enzyme mostly from pig stomach.


    Rennin (Rennet): A protein Enzyme. Usually not labeled. (In most cheeses).


    Shortening: Fats and oils of animal origin. Animal/Lard


    Vanilla: Extracted using alcohol.


    Vitamins: Haram when from animal source. Mostly the source is synthetic or plant and are Halal.


    Whey: Used in ice creams and yogurt. Haram when from animal source.


    2. A PARTIAL LIST OF HALAL INGREDIENTS
    S/N Name of Ingredients Code No Brief Description


    Antioxidants: Chemical compounds used to protect certain food components from being destroyed or lost through oxidation.


    Ascorbic acid: Vitamin C.


    Benzoate (Benzoic acid): Benzoic acid and sodium benzoate are used for food preservation.


    Biotin: A member of the B complex vitamins.


    BHA: An antioxidant, preservative.


    BHT: An antioxidant, preservative.


    Citric acid: Sources are plant, usually of the citrus family. (e.g. orange, lime, lemon).


    Cobalamine: Synthetically prepared Vitamin B12.


    Dextrin: An emulsifying, sizing, and thickening agent.


    Fiber: Sources are plant. Provide roughage to diet.


    Fructose: Fruit sugar.


    Gliadin (Gluten): Ptotein found in wheat and rye.


    Hydrogenated oil: Vegetable oil being hydrogenated making it solid at room temperature.


    Iodine: A nutrient for thyroid gland.


    Lecithin: Emulsifier of fat. In the USA, sources are mainly soyabean and egg yolk.


    Lipids : Essential fatty acids found in fish, plant and animals. If source is animal; it is suspected.


    Malt: A kind of fermented grain.


    Molasses: Syrup liquid obtained in refining sugar.


    MSG: Flavoring. Imparts meat flavor to foods.


    Niacin: One of the B complex vitamins.


    PABA: A food supplement.


    Pectin: A gelatinous substance extracted from fruits.


    Propionic acid: A preservative.


    Riboflavin: One of the B complex vitamins. Usually the source is synthetic.


    Pure vegetable shortening: Source of this kind of shortening is plant.


    100% vegetable shortening: Source of this kind of shortening is plant.


    Sweetener: Substance that gives a sweet taste.


    Thiamin: One of the B complex vitamins.


    Vanillin: Flavoring agent, extracted from vanilla.


    Vitamin A: If source are plant and synthetic, it is halal.


    Vitamin C: Natural sources are from plant. (e.g. citrus fruit, tomatoes, etc).


    Vitamin D: Natural sources are yeast and fish liver oil. Also synthetically produced.


    Vitamin E: Rich sources of Vitamin E are vegetable oils. When source is synthetic, it is halal. If source is animal, it is suspected.


    Water: The nutrient most vital to man's existence.


    Food yeast: Microscopic, unicellular, fungal plant used for fermentation process and in baking bread.

    2>Burger King Corporation:


    Shortening used in from swine = HARAM
    Lard is used in buns and apple pie = HARAM
    Lecithin is used in buns =HARAM
    Because you are not sure.
    Shakes = HALAL

    3>General Goods:




    Lard is used on Swan Down Cake mixes. Gelatin (from collagen-bearing tissues of any animal) is used in many products including Jell-O Brad Gelatin Desert = HARAM

    4>Knox Gelatin Inc.:

    Knox Gelatin is prepared from the protein collagen, which is extracted from either beef (bones and skin) or PORK (SKINS) =HARAM

    5>American Lecithin Company:

    Our lecithin is derived from soybeans and is sold under the trade name Alcoles = HALAL

    6>Nestle:

    A list was sent to MSA confirming that their products do not contain any animal by-product. Lecithin used in their products is derived from Soybeans = HALAL

    7>General Mills Inc.:

    Shortening similar to lard is used, also Soya lecithin is used =HARAM

    (Because it does not say Soya or lard and you don't know so it is better to avoid)
    8>Quaker Oats:

    Soybean lecithin is used. Shortening used is from swine. Some of the products are MASA Trigo, Flako pie crust and cup cake mix.


    My dear ALLAH when I loose hope, Help me to remember that, your love is greater than my disappointments & your plans For my life are better than my dreams..








  3. #3
    Administrator _knownothing_'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    currently on earth
    Posts
    25,971

    Default

    jazakAllah sis
    میں نےجو کیا وہ برا کیا،میں نے خود کو خود ہی تباہ کیا

    جو تجھے پسند ہو میرے رب،مجھے اس ادا کی تلاش ہے

    http://www.123muslim.com/discussion-...d-arround.html

  4. #4
    Regular Members rabz's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    england
    Posts
    3,814

    Default

    jazakallah

  5. #5
    Super Moderator afzaluddin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    kingdom of heaven
    Age
    31
    Posts
    2,205

    Default

    jazakAllah
    Ye sab Tumhara karam hai Aqqa ki baat ab tak bani hui hai

Similar Threads

  1. why Muslims eat only halal food
    By _knownothing_ in forum General
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 06-30-2011, 06:04 AM
  2. Halal b zaher hai aur Haram b
    By tauqirhussain in forum Hadith
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 05-31-2010, 12:02 PM
  3. good Halal Food Documentary
    By halalfood in forum Discussion Room
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 04-02-2010, 07:02 AM
  4. great Halal Food documentary
    By halalfood in forum Videos
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 04-01-2010, 03:01 PM
  5. Halal Food Documentary
    By halalfood in forum General
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 04-01-2010, 12:02 PM

Visitors found this page by searching for:

inositol halal

malt 79 haram hai

is inositol halal

is mustard halal

is mustard haram

inositol halal or haram

is honey mustard halal

halal inositol

name of food halal n haram food list n codes search

inositol is halal

emulsifier e471 is halal aur haram

inositol haram

gluten halal or haram

inositol halal haram

is honey mustard harammalt 79 inhalal aur haram foods listquaker oats halal or haramvitamin D3 Halal harammalt 79 halalhalal haram inositolgluten is halal or haramdocumentry on halal and haram foodwhich choclates are haraam inositol as an ingredient in muslim wheat

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •